Day One

I should have been a little suspicious when I woke up at 6am after only five hours of sleep. Jet lag works in mysterious ways! I can’t sleep on airplanes, so I had been up for well over 24 hours, but this morning I felt rested and energetic. I popped out of my flat and started exploring my neighborhood…

IMG_9698
Down this little alley is the entrance to my flat.
IMG_9700
My local convenience store is called Portlands!
IMG_9707
St. Pauls from the Millennium Bridge
IMG_9716
30 St. Mary Axe (locals call it “the Gherkin”)
IMG_9729
30 St. Mary Axe and St. Andrews
IMG_9752
Of course, I had to draw it
IMG_9727
Lloyds of London – One of my favorite buildings and I finally saw it in person!

I spent a little time this evening sketching St. Paul’s cathedral. It’s half a block from my flat which makes it the nearest landmark. Here’s the view I had:

IMG_9759
While I was sketching I met a wonderful family from Lebanon, we chatted about accents and languages for almost 30 minutes.

Unlike US cities, the roads here are not on a grid, which makes for very confusing routes. Luckily, directions come easy to me but the crosswalks and roads will take some getting used to. So will the money. More coins than I’m used to and also very valuable (the little one at the top is worth £1)

IMG_9744

I have totally bonded with my flat. It was built in 1881 and was a warehouse at the time. I was beginning to wonder why there was an ornate crane affixed to my wall! Also, there are no right angles in this building… none!  Here are some views:

IMG_9736
My kitchen has a little Juliet balcony
IMG_9742
From the entry

IMG_9712

5 thoughts on “Day One

Leave a Reply

