The Tower

In order to fill my tourist quota for the week, I took a long walk down the Thames to visit a few famous sights. From my flat in Ludgate Hill, I followed the river east and crossed at the London Bridge. On my way, I passed countless pubs, cafes, and markets… I’ll save them for a later post.

IMG_0150DSC_0201DSC_0203DSC_0200 copy

There were a lot of people, as you can imagine. Here’s a little video I took from the bridge, panning west to the City:

Back on the North bank of the river, I visited the Tower of London. It’s strange to think about how old it is. This castle was built between 1078 and 1285.  It’s the location of the Crown Jewels as well as many famous executions and prisoners. Anne Boleyn was beheaded here and Queen Elizabeth I was briefly imprisoned within these walls as a young Princess in the 1500s.
IMG_0138IMG_0136DSC_0190

DSC_0179
The Traitor’s Gate, a waterway connection from the Thames. It’s amazing to think Queen Elizabeth passed through this very gate more than 500 years ago.
DSC_0216
The old and the new

DSC_0212

On my walk home, I finally got up close to the 20 Fenchurch Street building. It’s been nicknamed “The Walkie Talkie Tower” because of it’s shape. It’s infamous for melting cars on sunny days because of the way it’s compound-curved faces reflect and focus light. I heard it has been retrofitted to fix that problem- fingers crossed!
DSC_0232DSC_0235

I also caught some great glimpses of the Shard, one of my favorite modern buildings in London…DSC_0239DSC_0207DSC_0205The HMS Belfast is a WWII-era Royal Navy light cruiser that was launched in 1938. It is permanently moored along the south bank of the Thames near the Tower Bridge. I’m going to return soon to tour this ship…

IMG_0121
IMG_0122

One thought on “The Tower

Leave a Reply

