Royal Greenwich in the rain

Three things come to mind when I think about London: History, alcohol, and work! Unfortunately, the latter kept me in the office until 11pm this Friday, so you can imagine my surprise on Saturday when I woke up at 6am, full of energy. It was cold and misty but I layered-up and went out.

I live in Greenwich (or the Royal Borough of Greenwich, if you’re fancy). I’m lucky to be so close to central London but still have amazing parks and quiet, safe streets. We have a lot of history here, but there are a few especially fascinating things: The Prime Meridian is located here… it’s the marker where time is measured from.. as in “Greenwich Mean Time.” There’s the Royal Naval College and Queen’s House… and the Cutty Sark, a 19th Century Clipper ship that always looks like it’s falling over…

I took my camera and here’s what I saw:

dsc_0451

dsc_0454
Queen’s House

dsc_0464dsc_0466

dsc_0474
My fancy neighbours: Royal Naval College and Queen’s House across Trafalgar Road
dsc_0455
Greenwich Observatory. Time has been measured from here since 1880
Leave a Reply

